This award is named after one of the toughest Chesty Lions to ever wear the red and black, 2008 LHS graduate Travis Sanders. After playing football and baseball at LHS, he continued his baseball career at Pratt Community College. After 2 years at Pratt, he enrolled at Emporia State. He served as a strength coach with Pittsburgh Pirates and the Los Angeles Dodgers minor league systems. Travis died in October of 2013 and we miss him EVERY day. Every team huddle ends with a count of “3,2,1” ending with #1 to honor Travis, as this was his jersey number. No player will wear #1, it’s been retired in his memory.


2014: Ryan Walter

2015: Nyle Anderson

2016: Parker Kirkpatrik

2017: Gavin Greenwood

2018: Riley Turpin

2019: Hank Dobson and Jackson Hewins



Kevin is a 1995 graduate of Lawrence High School. Kevin played collegiately at Wichita State. Hooper was named a first team All-American by College Baseball Insider in 1999. Named a second team All-American in 1998 by NCBWA and first team in 1999. Named a first team Freshman All-American in 1996 by Collegiate Baseball. Named all-Valley Scholar-Athlete in 1999. Named to all-regional team in 1996 and 1999. Named second team all-District in 1997, 1998 and 1999. Named second team all-Valley in 1997 and first team in 1998 and 1999. Won WSU Most Valuable Player Award in 1999. Drafted by the Florida Marlins in 1999, making his major league debut with the Detroit Tigers in 2005. He was inducted into the WSU hall of fame in 2005. From 2008-2016, Hooper managed the Wichita Wingnuts. Since 2016 he has served as the minor league infield coordinator for the San Diego Padres.



2007: Chris Fieger

2008: Kyle Grimes

2009: Mitch "Schwip" Watson

2011: Jon Pederson

2012: Devin "Bevin" Garcia

2013: CJ "Spider Monkey" Stuever

2014: Joe Mikesic

2015: Langston Bush

2016: Colton Lovelace

2017: Braden Solko and Cameron Stussie

2018: Mason Phelps

2019: Chris Ritter


Brad Harker is a 1993 graduate of Lawrence High School. Brad participated in basketball and baseball and was the homecoming king his senior year. In the 1993 major league draft, Brad was selected by the Chicago White Sox. He decided to attend Kansas State on a baseball scholarship. Brad is a regular at Lawrence High baseball practices and games. He is a valued friend and a first-class human being. One that cares deeply about others and kind and caring soul.


2007: Drew Hulse

2008: Joe Kornbrust

2009: Dorian Green

2011: Ross Johnson

2012: Troy Willoughby

2013: Shane Willoughby

2014: Kieran Severa

2015: Luke Zenger

2016: Ivan "GQ" Hollins

2017: Cameron Stussie

2018: Mason Phelps

2019: Garrett Romero and Caleb Mondi



Curtis is one of the most decorated LHS baseball players. A member of the 2000 state champion
team, he was drafted by the Cleveland Indians. He chose to attend Garden City community
college then continued to play baseball at Nebraska. He was a three-year starter for the Huskers
from 2003 to 2005, earning first-team All-Big 12 honors at two positions (designated hitter and first base), as he hit .320 with 34 homers and 166 RBIs in 180 career games. As a senior, he earned Big 12 Tournament MVP honors, guiding the Huskers to a sweep of the conference regular-season and tournament titles. Ledbetter earned NCAA Tournament All- Regional honors in 2003 and 2005, as Nebraska won two Big 12 regular-season titles and won the first College World Series game in school history during his senior year. In the classroom, Ledbetter was a three-time academic All-Big 12 selection, a Big 12 Commissioner’s Honor Roll member and graduated from Nebraska in 2005 with a degree in journalism. He added a master’s degree in education administration in December of 2012.  An 18th-round draft pick of the Seattle Mariners in 2005, Ledbetter played professional baseball for three years, earning Frontier League all-star 2007 – his final season in the professional ranks. He currently serves as the Nebraska baseball team’s director of operations in July 2019 after spending last season as the Huskers’ volunteer coach. Ledbetter previously served as the team’s director of operations for 10 years. In 2019, he was NU’s first-base coach and hitting coach and helped the Huskers to an NCAA Tournament berth and a runner-up finish at the Big Ten Tournament


2007: Daniel Parker

2008: Tom Schuh

2009: Aaron Rea

2011: Alex Laughlin

2012: Shane Willoughby and Garrett Cleavinger

2013: Drew Green

2014: Drew Green

2015: Michael Sinks

2016: Brad Kincaid

2017: Andrew Stewart and Devin Lauts

2018: Austin Quick and Andrew Stewart

2019: Hank Dobson



2007: Joe Muiller

2008: Chase Muder

2009: Andy Urban

2011: Trent Sheppard

2012: CJ Roush

2013: Adam Rea

2014: Brandon Bell

2015: Nick Haynes

2016: Luke Padia & Daonte Lowery

2017: Alexander Guy

2018: Reese Carmona & Ian Henricks

2019: Payton Cummins & Preston Harris


Designed by Sami Turner

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White YouTube Icon